• starsCatherine Phillips takes NYS title

    EAHS Awards Ceremony and National Honor Society Induction

    Dennis Peters named B & G Employee of the Year

    Parkdale students win creative writing contest


    Congratulations to Katie Gampietro Burke and Ed Stohrer who were inducted in the EAHS Athletic Hall of Fame on Friday, September 3, during half-time of the EA - Lackawanna football game, first of the fall season.

    Congratulations to two East Aurora High School Students who have been selected to participate in the all-state mixed chorus in Rochester, NY in November. Faith Robinson is a senior, and Ben Stortz is a junior. Paul Blackwell is their HS chorus teacher.
       New York has one of the most competitive all-states in the nation, with over 6000 students competing for 800 slots in the various ensembles. It is a tremendous honor to be selected for this elite group.
    Congratulations to our 2010 Yearbook staff and advisors, Amanda Buscemi and Alka Moudgil. This year's yearbook received the "Excellence in Yearbook Design" award for "Trendsetting Graphics." Sixty yearbooks were entered in the competition sponsored by Jostens.

    Desiree Dawson, Class of 2010, received the Katie Gorbett award at the Ormsby Center's award ceremony. This award is presented annually to a senior based on concern for others, ability to keep a positive attitude, ability to get along with peers, and involvement with a group or club. Outstanding seniors included Naomi Fulle (CADD), Sarah Hora (Culinary Arts) and James Koszuta (Criminal Justice). Seniors Audrey Gawlik, Elizabeth Graves and James Koszuta received academic scholarships to Medaille, D'Youville, and Hilbert, respectively. Finally, Sarah Hora, Adam McNallie (CADD) and Shawna Wagner (CADD) were elected to the Vocational Honor Society.

    Once again Newsweek Magazine ranked the top 5% (1622 total) public high schools in America. The ranking are based on number of Advanced Placement exams given divided by the number of seniors. Eleven high schools in WNY were included in the ranking. East Aurora was ranked 835 followed by Williamsville South (919) Grand Island (1040), Amherst (1207), Will North (1295), Hamburg (1317) and Orchard Park (1446). Ranked ahead of EAHS were City Honors (10), Lewiston Porter (389), Clarence (414) and Williamsville East (455). Congratulations students and staff!

    Congratulations to the East Aurora Envirothon Team for its second place finish in the Erie County Envirothon held at the Elma Senior Center on April 29. Team members were Jordan Bischoff, Caitlin McGee, Charlie Border, Kyle Spindelman, and Austin Belter.

    The Erie County Envirothon is a competition between schools here in Erie County on Environmental Topics. The students attended a workshop day in early April in which scientists in the fields of Wildlife Management, Aquatics, Forestry, Soils, and Sustainable Living taught the students about their field of study. These lessons took place in the field, and involved electrofishing to study fish populations, forestry analysis, and identifying wildlife tracks and signs. The students return for a performance day where they work as a team to answer questions from each of the topics.

    The EAHS team finished first in the Aquatics test, second place in both the Sustainable Living Presentation and Forestry categories and third place in the Wild Life test. A second team from East Aurora also competed, including Elizabeth Bauer, Austin Belter, Ed Crow, Sophie Leetma, Zoe Spindelman and Kendal Szafnicki.

    The competition is sponsored by the Erie County Soil and Water Conservation District, and the advisors for the team were High School Science teachers Larry Grisanti and Jeff Shelley.

    Congratulations to the top finishers in the EAHS Talent Show on April 30, including champion Megan O'Brien, who sang and played an original song; Hanna Braun, who sang “I want to hold your hand;” dancer Nico Holtgrefe; and Julia Eager, Katherine Mentecki, and Paige Ronan, who finished in fourth place. The event was sponsored by the EAHS Spirit Club, under the direction of Joanne Ryan.

    Lauren Taylor Lind, EAHS Class of 2010, will be recognized at the Harkness Career & Technical Center's annual Senior Awards ceremony. 

    Congratulations to the Middle School Symphonic Band, who took part in the New York State School Music Association Major Ensemble Evaluation Festival at Orchard Park High School on May 26, receiving a rating of "silver" after performing a program of music rated difficulty Level III.

    Brody Hacker, Class of 2011, was inducted into the National Technical Honor Society on May 13. The NTHS recognizes that there is a need to encourage and reward outstanding student achievement in workforce education. Only students who are recommended by the Ormsby faculty and exhibit the qualities of skilled workmanship, honesty, responsibility, leadership, citizenship, and scholastic achievement are selected for membership. Congratulations, Brody!