• orchCongratulations to Mrs. Schaffer's Fifth/Sixth Grade Orchestra, first place division winners and Grand Champions of the 2011 Darien Lake Music Festival!

    On Sunday, June 12 four of EA's string students performed at the Roycroft Chamber Music Festival at St. Matthias Church. Katie Ebersole, Tim Horvatits, Zach Felder, and Alex Weberg performed part of a Mozart string quartet. To assist them with preparation for this performance, the quartet received instruction from Roman Mekinulov, principal cellist of the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra. This is the fourth (and final) year that Katie, Tim and Alex have participated in this festival.

    Academic Achivement
    Congratulations to Andy Kurtzhalts, Skylar Sorrentino, and Jaycen Watts. They were selected as Outstanding Seniors in their respective classes for the 2010-11 school year. In addition, Jaycen was presented the Wallace D. Ormsby Memorial Award given annually to an Ormsby senior who demonstrates outstanding performance in career-technical education and citizenship.

    Mrs. Richey accompanied her EAHS students to the Math Challenge that the CCMA (Calculators and Computers in Math Applications) at SUNY Fredonia, and the teams earned second and third place in competition. The theme of the competition this year was “Heroes and Villains,” and teams dressed accordingly for the Spiderman Sound Challenge, Hero's Formula competition, and MacGyver or MacGruber building competition.

    The following members of the Class of 2011 were nominated for the NYSED 2011 Scholarship for Academic Excellence: Charles Border, Phil Czapla, Mia Ferraina, Tim Hollman and Hannah Schuetz.

    Dan Leman, Class of 2013, has been selected to participate in the Hague International Model United Nations conference scheduled for the end of January, 2012 in the Netherlands. Dan was selected by the Monroe 2- Orleans BOCES from a group of Model UN students throughout WNY. Of the 4000 delegates at THIMUN, only a small percentage is from the U.S. The U.S. delegation will be participating in this very prestigious student activity with young men and women from numerous European, Middle Eastern, African, and South American countries. Dan is a member of a very select group of students. Congratulations to Dan and to Todd Hathaway, EAHS Model UN advisor! 

    Two EAHS students received recognition in the Burt Nelson German Essay Contest. Mark Mandych, Class of 2012, earned second place in the German Language Division and Caitlin Hasselback, Class of 2012, took first place in the English Language Division. The Burt Nelson Essay Contest is an annual regional contest that is sponsored by the Buffalo Dortmund Sister City Committee. Contestants have the option of writing essays in English on a German theme or in German. Congratulations to Mark and Caitlin and their teacher, Mrs. Reimers! 

    John Hasselback, Class of 2014, placed 15th in the national "Step Into German" video contest. Given the scope of this contest, this is a significant accomplishment. Congratulations to John and his teacher, Mrs. Reimers.

    Gwen Cedfeldt, Class of 2012, won an award in the Creative Writing Contest sponsored by the Western New York Federation of Women's Clubs. Gwen's short story, "W. Mare" won second place in Category 4 (Grades 10.11, 12) for prose in the Greater WNY District. Congratulations to Gwen and her English teachers.

    The New York State Education Department recently released graduation and dropout rates for the Class of 2010 among all public high schools in WNY. East Aurora High School was ranked #5 with a graduation rate of 97.1%. Our dropout rate ( 0.6%) was the third lowest among all public high schools in WNY. The only schools with a lower dropout rate were Charter Schools in Buffalo. Congratulations to our students, faculty, staff and community on this ranking.

    Eighth grade student Karen Borowski received third place in an essay writing contest sponsored by the American Legion. Her essay was on the topic of patriotism. Karen received a certificate and a $75 cash prize.  

    Five EAHS seniors were selected as Spring Scholar-Athletes by Section VI:
    Baseball - Jameson Arnold

    Girls Lacrosse - Rachel Hallnan & LIz Vail

    Girls Track & Field - Emma Holbrook

    Boys Track & Field - Luke Wolfling

    The following seniors earned Honorable Mention for the Spring Sport season:

    Baseball - Brendan Caputi & Dan Hayes

    Tennis - Brendan Conron & John Werbitsky

    Golf - Mike DeSantis

    Girls Lacrosse - Ashley Friess

    Golf - Dan Hayes

    Boys Track & Field - Tim Hollman & Alex Weberg

    Girls Track & Field - Amanda Westfall & Molly Jones

    Additional EAHS honorees:

    All-Western New York Academic Team: Elizabeth Vail
    Extracurricular Stars: Megan Hulton
    Top 15 Sports Programs: East Aurora HS


    Outstanding staff

    JHIn a ceremony in June, the 2011 Auroran Yearbook was dedicated to Dr. Jay Hoagland (with Mrs. Hoagland at right):

    “The 2011 Auroran is dedicated to a natural-born leader and a devoted member of the East Aurora High School community. This individual has been a part of the East Aurora family for 28 years. As mentor, teacher, and supported, this person represents the best of everything East Aurora High School has to offer. This member of our community strives every day to obtain the best from everyone, pushing student to achieve their unleashed potential, and supporting them both in and out of the classroom, This person can constantly be see throughout the school, personally interacting with students and teachers as well as custodial staff and administration officials. This individual exhibits care and concern for every member of the East Aurora High School, past and present, and has worked tirelessly to do what is best for the school and for the education of its students. Under this man's leadership, East Aurora High School has become one of the highest performing high schools in Western New York. He has demonstrated a love for knowledge and an eager desire to share his knowledge with others. It is with great pleasure that we dedicate the 2011 EAHS yearbook to a man of admirable strength and devotion, our, principal, Dr. James Hoagland.” 

    Middle School's Friday Dress Down coordinator Heidy Arts reports a grand total for the school year of $2939.39 for a variety of local charitable endeavors. Ms. Arts was grateful for the generosity of staff members who contributed to the fund each week. 


    unytsJonathan Rabey (left) was among twenty-one donors at the UNYTS Blood Drive at Parkdale.  Cleophus Phillips, right, is a UNYTS nurse. 


    Holocaust survivor Henry Zeve of Amherst spoke to eighth graders about his experiences living in a Jewish Ghetto, being hidden in an orphanage, then fleeing on his own to avoid capture. The talk was arranged through the Holocaust Center of Western New York, and funded by the PTO/MS.