• stars
    The East Aurora Boys and Girls Cross Country Teams brought home the gold by winning the New York State Championships the weekend of November 13 in Pawling, Section I.  Both squads raced to Class B Team Titles on their way to dominating performances on the tough 5000 meter course.

    The girls team, led by individual runner-up Marta McLaughlin, scored a low 25 points to runner-up Pearl River's 50. Following closely behind Marta were: Megan Hulton 4th, Sarah Anstett 8th, Sarah Mars 13th, Paige Anderson 25th, Amanda Westfall 31st, and Megan Baritot 32nd. This was the East Aurora's 6th consecutive Class B Title. In 2004 EA placed 2nd by one point to Rochester's HFL who currently holds the state record of consecutive wins at seven.

    The boys team had to wait their turn to challenge the course and the competition as they were the third boys race of the day following all five girls races. Beside the course, the EA squad was ready for a tough Bayport-Bluepoint team who were picked to be even with EA in scoring. From the start, the boys stuck to their plan and like the girls made their move after the tough hill. Their hard work and patience paid off as they moved up well the second half of the race to take the title and win with 72 points, twenty a head of the second place team from Bayport, from Section 11.
    Leading the way for EA were: Sean Phillips 15th, Kevin O'Connor 18th, Gene Baritot 27th, Brendan Keany 28th, Alex Weberg 36th, Elliott Martynkiewicz 40th, and Larkin Bohanan 53rd.

    Both teams qualified for the New York State Federation Championships to be held the weekend of November 20 at Bowdoin Park in Poughkeepsie.
    ~ Coach Walter McLaughlin

    Congratulations to EAHS junior Benjamin Stortz on his selection to the All-Eastern Honors Chorus, to be held at the MENC (Music Educators National Conference)  Eastern Division conference in Baltimore from March 31 -
    April 3.
    Benjamin is the first student from East Aurora to be selected for one of the Eastern Division ensembles in 12 years.
    This conference is held once every two years, and the students are selected from 11 states, stretching from Maine to Maryland. This is a real honor for both Benjamin and the East Aurora music program.

    CAWNY Invitational Certamen awards     On Saturday, December 4, 200 students and teachers from 10 school districts across WNY and from as far away as Rochester gathered at EAHS to participate in the CAWNY Invitational Certamen with Latin teacher Brian Serwicki. Students competed in team, pair and individual competitions, with the following results for East Aurora students:

    High School awards:

    · The Level III team composed of Ed Crow, Dan Leman, Paige Ronan, and Chase Szafnicki, Class of 2013, placed second.

    · The Level I team composed Zach Felder, Jack Rice (Class of 2014), Erin O'Connell, and Elizabeth Rhodes (Class of 2012) placed third.

    · Individual awards were earned by seniors Katie Ebersole and Lucas Hartney, juniors Erin O'Connell and Elizabeth Rhodes, sophomores Dan Leman and Chase Szafnicki, and freshmen Grace Anderson and Carlin Sullivan.

    Middle School awards:

    · The 8th grade team made up of Emily Dziulko, Ethan Bittner, Andrew Constantin, and Colin Denfrund took 3rd place in their certamen.

    · The 7th grade team made up of Gabby Kramer, Erika Davidson, and Fiona Danieu took 1st place in their certamen.

    · Individual award winners: Colin Denfrund - 3rd place 8th grade Roman History, Ethan Bittner - 3rd place 8th grade Classical Mythology, Avryn Bonus - 2nd place tie 7th grade Roman History, Zach Warning - 2nd place tie 7th grade Roman History, Nicola Gnecco - 2nd place tie 7th grade Roman History, Erika Davidson - 3rd place 7th grade Roman History, Matt Link - 2nd place 7th grade Classical Mythology, Morgan Palmer - 3rd place 7th grade Classical Mythology

    Congratulations to Middle School Spelling Bee winner Rosanne Carbone, who will take a written test in February for a chance to attend the National Spelling Bee in June in Washington, D.C.  Brad Carte is our runner-up who will take the test if Rosanne is unable. 



    ccOur DECA Student of the Month for November is junior Chris Christie. This is Chris’s first year in DECA. He is competing in Principles of Business Management and Administration this year. He has attended National Youth Leadership Conference which he participated actively in. This will be Chris’s first of many DECA awards to come because he always rises to any challenge. Chris is constantly working to his best ability in activities such as making posters for advertising events and working in the bookstore just to name a few. He is always reliable when it comes to bringing in breakfast for the class on Monday mornings. Chris Christie gives 100% effort to DECA and the entire DECA club is very thankful to have him!

    Caroline Zink- DECA

    Congratulations to Mary Hennessy, named ECIC Field Hockey Coach of the Year!

    Several EAHS students participated in the Buffalo State High School Honors Band on October 24, 2010 at the Performing Arts Center at Rockwell Hall, including Emma Bateman, Myra Engle, Kate Gelsinger, Hannah Schuetz, Ashely Yovienne, Abby Milliron, and Mary Luellen.

    jon and tomVarsity football players Tom DiFilippo and Jon Alston were recently recognized at the WNY High School Sports 24th Annual Football Awards Banquet.  Jon, a junior, was awarded the High School Sports.net Defensive Player of the Year for Class B South. Tom was named to the 2010 WNY High School All-Academic Team.