Return to Headlines

Newell, Irons, and Vasbinder earn National Merit Scholarship Honors

Officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 62nd annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Among 16,000 semifinalists,  senior Tanner Newell was chosen in the program’s 63rd year.


To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

Sarah Irons and Daniel Vasbinder were also awarded “Commended Status” through the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. 34,000 students throughout the nation are being recognized as Commended Students this year after taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

Students are selected for this honor based on their performance on the PSAT exam. Each high school student's selective index is the sum of his writing, critical reading, and mathematics scores on this exam. These students' selective indices placed them within the top 1-percent of students taking the exam nationally.

 Congratulations to Tanner Newell, Sarah Irons and Daniel Vasbinder on this incredible honor.